Travelling by train – UK and worldwide – for non-rail staff

Travelling by Train – UK and Worldwide 

Train information: For UK train times and fares visit nationalrail.co.uk  This site will also give you live train running information and station information. Tel: 08457 48 49 50 for train information. Similar information is also available on the websites of most Train Operating Companies, listed below: 

List of Train Operating Companies (TOCs) in UK 

Arriva Trains Wales                 arrivatrainswales.co.uk
C2C                                          c2c-online.co.uk
Cross Country                          crosscountrytrains.co.uk
Chiltern Railways                     chilternrailways.co.uk
East Midlands Trains                eastmidlandstrains.co.uk
Thameslink Great Northern     thameslinkrailway.co.uk
Great Western                         gwr.com
Gatwick Express                     gatwickexpress.com
Grand Central                         grandcentralrail.com
Greater Anglia                         greateranglia.co.uk
Hull Trains                               hulltrains.co.uk
Heathrow Connect                  heathrowconnect.com
Heathrow Express                  heathrowexpress.com
Island line                               southwesttrains.co.uk
London Midland                      londonmidland.com
London Overground                tfl.gov.uk 
Merseyrail                               merseyrail.org
Northern Rail                          northernrailway.co.uk
ScotRail                                  scotrail.co.uk
Southwestern Railway            southwesternrailway.com
Southeastern                           southeasternrailway.co.uk
Southern Railway                    southernrailway.com
Trans Pennine Express           tpexpress.co.uk
Virgin Trains                            virgintrains.com

Virgin trains East Coast           virgintrainseastcoast.com

A number of websites will sell tickets but please note that many of these charge booking fees and credit card charges may also apply. It is normally cheaper to buy tickets from the website of the Train Operating Company you will travel on.

All Train Operating Companies sell tickets for all journeys throughout the UK on all other Train Operating Companies.

Some of the sites below will also show how you can reduce the cost of rail travel by splitting journeys or by other means.

raileasy.co.uk
Thetrainline.com
Redspottedhanky.com
Mytrainticket.co.uk
Railsaver.co.uk
Nationalrail.com
Trainfares.co.uk

Moneysavingexpert.com

The complete National Railway timetable can be downloaded free from nationalrail.co.uk.

Travelling in London

Oyster/contactless: For travel in London either obtain an Oyster card or use your contactless debit card on trains and buses. The cost is the same. Most ticket offices at London underground have now closed although there are always working ticket machines and all stations are staffed. You cannot buy a bus ticket from the driver. Visit tfl.gov.uk for full details.

Travelling in Europe and Worldwide

Everything you need to know about travelling by rail in all countries of the world is available on seat61.com

The Thomas Cook European Rail Timetable is now printed by another organisation and can be obtained from Stanfords, Long Acre, London stanfords.co.uk or direct from europeanrailtimetable.eu

Rail Holiday Operators 

If you are looking for a company to organise a complete package by rail for you here are a few suggestions: 

Great Rail Journeys – escorted group tours worldwide including the UK and Ireland. greatrail.com (Discount available for REPTA members – see advert on this site)

Rail Discoveries  – escorted group holidays worldwide for those on a lower budget. Operated by Great Rail Journeys  raildiscoveries.com  (see advert on this site)

Planet Rail. Tailor-made holidays to Europe. planetrail.co.uk (see advert on this site)

Rail Touring Co. – UK and worldwide rail excursions and tours by steam train aimed at Railway Enthusiasts. railtouring.net

Inside Track – UK and worldwide rail excursions and tours for railway enthusiasts – railway holidays.com

Golden Eagle Luxury Trains Ltd. – Specialising in a luxury private trains on the Trans Siberian, China and Mongolia. Goldeneagleluxurytrains.com

This is just a small selection of operators.